Feb 10, 2010

~CLOSED~Elvis 75 CD Review & Giveaway!

Legacy Recordings is proud to announce the release of Elvis 75 - Good Rockin' Tonight, the ultimate career-spanning collection of seminal recordings by Elvis Presley, in commemoration of the King of Rock & Roll's 75th birthday (January 8, 2010). Elvis 75 -- a four CD, 100 song collection -- will be available everywhere on Tuesday, December 8.

The first major Elvis Presley retrospective to cover the full spectrum of the artist's world-changing career, Elvis 75 runs from "My Happiness," the acetate Elvis himself paid nearly four dollars to record at the Memphis Recording Service on July 18, 1953, a year before signing with Sun Records, to "A Little Less Conversation (JXL Radio Remix Edit)," a posthumous #1 hit for Elvis in the UK, Australia and more than 20 other countries in 2002.

Offering fans an unprecedented range of essential material, Elvis 75 provides a generous selection of the electrifying earth-shattering primal rock & roll of young Elvis; the swinging good vibes of Elvis's soundtrack recordings; the heartfelt humility of his gospel performances and the intimacy of his ballads; the pure pop power and show biz magic of Elvis in Vegas; and a record-setting number of #1 and Top 10 international smashes.

The lavish Elvis 75 box set includes an 80-page booklet featuring many rare photographs and a new essay by musical and cultural critic Billy Altman (Rolling Stone, The New Yorker).

A single disc edition of Elvis 75, featuring key tracks culled from the four-disc set, will be released on January 5, 2010 (the week of Elvis' birthday: January 8).

Legacy's release of Elvis 75 kicks off a year-long celebration of the life and music of Elvis Presley, the world's first rock & roll star.


I have been a big Elvis Presley fan for almost my entire life.  I grew up listening to his music, and at our house he was considered to be the BEST singer and performer ever!  My dad had quite a few of Elvis's records and (I'm going to "date" myself with this one) 8-Tracks.  Remember those?   When I was offered the opportunity to review a new Elvis CD, I didn't have to think about, I wanted in!  I received the single CD version of Elvis 75, with 25 of his most memorable songs, from his earliest rock and roll hits in the 1950s, to his more mellow ballads from the late 1960s.   Here's a list of the songs:

1. That's All Right
2. I Forgot To Remember To Forget
3. Heartbreak Hotel
4. Blue Suede Shoes
5. Hound Dog
6. Don't Be Cruel
7. Love Me Tender (From the 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Production "Love Me Tender")
8. Love Me
9. All Shook Up
10. Jailhouse Rock
11. Trouble
12. It's Now Or Never
13. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
14. Little Sister
15. Can't Help Falling In Love
16. Viva Las Vegas
17. How Great Thou Art
18. Guitar Man
19. If I Can Dream (New Sound Remastered)
20. In The Ghetto
21. Suspicious Minds
22. Polk Salad Annie
23. An American Trilogy
24. Burning Love
25. Always On My Mind

If you're an Elvis fan, then you know this is a great collection!  I enjoyed listening to all of the songs, and remembering my childhood, and my Dad...and his 8-Tracks! : )

Elvis 75 (1 CD) and Elvis 75-Good Rockin' Tonight 4-CD Box Set are both available at Amazon.com.


Thanks to Jessica and Legacy Recordings, I have a copy of Elvis 75 (1 CD) to giveaway!

Tell me what is your favorite Elvis Presley song? 
And, if you'd like to elaborate as to why it's your favorite, or about anything else Elvis-related...wonderful! 

~Follow me PUBLICLY on Google Friend Connect.  Include your Google Friends user name in your comment.

~Follow me on Twitter  @amylou61  AND Tweet this Giveaway, linking to this post in your tweet.  Your Tweets must be PUBLIC for this to count.  Leave a link to your Tweet in a comment. You can copy this tweet:       Win a copy of Elvis 75 CD at Peace & Quiet! http://tinyurl.com/y9j3xh8

~Post this giveaway in a post on your blog OR on another site. Include my blog name "Peace & Quiet" and link back to this post.  Leave a comment with a link to your post.

PLEASE make sure your email is either linked to, or included in your comment.  Entries will be accepted until February 26th at 11:59pm EST.  Winners will be drawn by random.org and validated per rules. US addresses only. Winner will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to reply before an alternate winner is chosen. Good Luck!

Disclaimer/Disclosure: I received 2 CDs (1 for my review, and 1 to giveaway) in exchange for my review. This is my honest opinion, and was not influenced by the sponsor in any way.